New COGIC Presiding Bishop Calls for Time of Prayer, Fasting and Rededication

12:00PM 4/1/2021 Charisma News Staff

Newly elected Presiding Bishop J. Drew Sheard of the Church of God in Christ has issued a call for 10 weeks of prayer, fasting and rededication on Tuesdays and Fridays. The special season began March 30 and will continue through June 4, 2021.

"I'm asking that you would join us on a prayer call," Sheard says in a video announcing the season of spiritual focus. "I don't want to do it by Zoom, Screen, [Vid]yard or Facebook. I don't want it to be a production. I want to do it so we can hear those individuals who will be chosen to lead in prayer. ... You won't have to fix up to be on camera. I just want you to lie before the Lord.

"I just want this to be a sincere cry to God to restore our church, heal our land and restore us to a recommitted life in Christ Jesus," Sheard says. The schedule for the season will involve various components of the church leading in one-hour prayer calls.

COGIC Schedule for Prayer Calls

Tuesday, March 30 and Friday, April 2: The General Board

Tuesday, April 6 and Friday, April 9: The Board of Bishops

Tuesday, April 13 and Friday, April 16: International Department of Women

Tuesday, April 20 and Friday, April 23: The General Assembly

Tuesday, April 27 and Friday, April 30: The General Council of Pastors and Elders

Tuesday, May 4 and Friday, May 7: International Sunday School Department

Tuesday, May 11 and Friday, May 14: World Missions and International Department of Evangelism

Tuesday, May 25 and Friday, May 28: The Prayer Ministry

Tuesday, June 1 and Friday, June 4: The General Board

To Join the Prayer Call

Zoom Link

COGIC Facebook Page

Or dial in using one of the following numbers; 312-626-6799, 929-205-6099, 301-715-8592, 346-248-7799, 669-900-6833 or 253-215-8782, all with ID 827 9762 2400.

"My brothers and sisters, we don't have time to waste," Sheard says. "There will never be a perfect time to start praying. So let's interrupt some things and make prayer our priority!"

Watch the entire video announcement here and check the schedule for further information.

Related Videos

Newest Videos

Trending Videos

Charisma News - Informing believers with news from a Spirit-filled perspective