Charisma Caucus

Russell Moore Joins Mike Huckabee on Criminal Justice Reform

Russell Moore
Russell Moore (Russell Moore/Facebook)
Right on Crime today announced the addition of faith leader Dr. Russell Moore as a signatory to its Statement of Principles. Dr. Moore is the president of the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention (ERLC), which is described as "the moral and public policy agency of the nation's largest Protestant denomination."

Russell Moore, the former dean of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, is one of the most influential Christian leaders in America. He is highly regarded as one of the most articulate voices for human dignity and morality in public policy.

Right on Crime is a national campaign of the Texas Public Policy Foundation, in partnership with the American Conservative Union Foundation and Justice Fellowship that supports fighting crime, prioritizing victims and protecting taxpayers. The movement to reform underperforming and wasteful criminal justice programs had its origins in Texas in 2005. Its success has been duplicated and continues to serve as a model for effective policies around the country.

In recent years, states like Ohio, Oklahoma, TexasMississippiSouth Dakota and Georgia have led the way in implementing correctional reforms that both protect the public and promote human dignity.

"We are privileged to have Russell Moore join as a signatory to the Right on Crime Statement of Principles," said Marc Levin, Policy Director of Right on Crime. "Voices from our nation's high-profile, respected faith leaders are essential to the criminal justice reform movement. A major component to reform is removing roadblocks to employment and keeping families intact during and after incarceration."

Dr. Moore joins more than 60 prominent conservative leaders who have endorsed the principles of conservative criminal justice reform including, former Gov. Mike Huckabee, former Sen. Jim DeMint, former U.S. House Speaker Newt Gingrich, former U.S. Attorney General Edwin Meese, former New Mexico Attorney General Hal Stratton, former U.S. Congressman J.C. Watts, former Ohio Secretary of State Ken Blackwell, former Virginia Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, former Ohio Attorney General Jim Petro and Americans for Tax Reform President Grover Norquist.

To contact us or to submit an article, click here.

Get Charisma's best content delivered right to your inbox! Never miss a big news story again. Click here to subscribe to the Charisma News newsletter.

Charisma News - Informing believers with news from a Spirit-filled perspective