GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Aretha Franklin
Aretha Franklin (Matthew Jordan Smith)

Artists Aretha Franklin, Ricky Skaggs, Dallas Holm, The Hoppers, Love Song and televangelist Rex Humbard, who supported gospel music with his media ministry, are scheduled to be inducted Aug. 14 into the GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame, the GMA Foundation (GMAF) announced.

“The diverse talents represented in this year's class of inductees have impacted millions of people around the world,” said Charles Dorris, the foundation’s chairman. “It is an honor to induct these individuals.”

A nonprofit organization affiliated with the Gospel Music Association, GMAF will induct the honorees at Trinity Music City Auditorium in Hendersonville, Tenn., in an event open to the public.

Established in 1971, The GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame has inducted more than 150 members since its inception. Previous inductees include Johnny Cash, DeGarmo & Key, Dolly Parton, Elvis Presley, Mahalia Jackson, Amy Grant, the Statler Brothers, the Winans, the Blind Boys of Alabama, Andrae Crouch, Sandi Patty, Bill & Gloria Gaither. Click here to see all past inductees.

To contact us or to submit an article, click here.

Get Charisma's best content delivered right to your inbox! Never miss a big news story again. Click here to subscribe to the Charisma News newsletter.

Charisma News - Informing believers with news from a Spirit-filled perspective